I love you Bubbe!!! this series is absolute genius. I found you some months ago while searching for a good matzoh ball soup recipe. I ended up having to quadruple the portions, given the number of guests, plus I wanted to reduce everything down to intensify the flavors. we had it with a gorgeous pastrami a friend brought back from the deli in his old neighborhood in long island — steamed it for about four or five hours and served it on slices of freshly baked rye that our baker friend made just for the occasion. utter, utter bliss.

thank you so much for this series, A & B! it goes straight to the best things in the world for me: family, tradition, comfort food, laughter, sharing. I cook for a living, and let me tell you, I wish it could always be like this.

Alex S — Columbia, SC (via Feed Me Bubbe Facebook Group)

About chalutzproductions

Chalutz is the hebrew word for pioneer and the name fits since the online broadcasting world is an experience which Podcasters and Vidcasters were pioneering at the time of our creation.

4 responses »

  1. Louise Herman says:

    Hi Bubbe,
    My Grandma Sarah made delicious gefilte fish. She had one of those grinders that you attach to the table. Could you make gefilte fish? It tastes so much better homemade! I love your show. It is so homey and cheerful. You are a great teacher. My Grandma put a teaspoon of Postum in warm milk because my Mom said I was too young for coffee-it would ‘stunt your growth!’ I loved my Grandma-she was a sweet lady.

    • Hi Louise, I loved your email, and Postum I haven’t seen that in the stores for years but you’re absolutely right that’s what my mother told us too and this was a substitute for coffee. You made me think now. The next time I go to the store, I’m going to see if they have a substitute something like Postum and ask the manager. Will be very interesting if they don’t sell it someplace. Also as far as gefilte fish there is now frozen gefilte fish in a roll it is raw and you have to prepare it, but it is just like the fresh fish mixture you would make. Add a couple of sliced onions, water to cover, one sliced carrot, pepper (maybe an eighth of a teaspoon, or depending how much you like and maybe less than a tablespoon of sugar, if you like, if you can’t find it let me know. Check your markets where Kosher frozen foods are sold. If you need more instructions let me know.

  2. nita says:

    I just discovered on JLTV. I’m Catholic but, I just might have a Jewish palate! Bubbe is awesome and I have my DVR to record every episode! I really enjoy JLTV, I’ve learned so much. THANKS!!!!

Leave a Reply

